Oats have become a regular breakfast item in many households. With a variety of Indian flavours and options available in the market, oats are no longer considered a ‘western’ food.
Do oats contain gluten? Can oats be eaten by celiac disease patients or those who have gluten sensitivity?
Oats do not contain gluten. Gluten, a plant protein, is found in wheat, rye and barley. Oats sometimes get contaminated with gluten if they are cultivated near gluten-containing crops. That’s why, oats are in the ‘avoid’ list for those who cannot tolerate gluten.
Oats are best avoided by those who have celiac disease. But if you are sensitive to gluten without celiac disease, you could try oats in small quantities to begin with.
Oats are rich in soluble fibre, manganese, phosphorus and magnesium. Include oats in your meal plan at least once a week, to add variety and nutrition.