Reproducing my article that appeared in Bangalore Mirror on 2nd Jan 2019…
Bangalore Mirror, Wednesday, January 2, 2019, pages from 8 to 8
Rice bran, which is the outer layer of the whole rice grain, is the part which is normally removed and thrown away. What most of us eat is the endosperm part of the rice grain which is mostly starch.
Let’s look at what nutrients gets thrown out when we remove the bran layer of rice – vitamins B1, B3, B6, manganese, iodine, some amount of protein (particularly lysine, an essential amino acid) and essential fatty acids. Bioactive phytochemicals like dietary fibre, phytosterols, and other phenolic compounds are also present in rice bran. 100 g of rice bran can meet a quarter of the needs of vitamins needed for our body.
Researchers have found hundreds of metabolites in rice bran which have potential medicinal and health promoting attributes. While more research is needed to confirm this, what we already know about rice bran should convince us to eat unpolished rice in place of white rice.
Oats have become a regular breakfast item in many households. With a variety of Indian flavours and options available in the market, oats are no longer considered a ‘western’ food.
Do oats contain gluten? Can oats be eaten by celiac disease patients or those who have gluten sensitivity?
Oats do not contain gluten. Gluten, a plant protein, is found in wheat, rye and barley. Oats sometimes get contaminated with gluten if they are cultivated near gluten-containing crops. That’s why, oats are in the ‘avoid’ list for those who cannot tolerate gluten.
Oats are best avoided by those who have celiac disease. But if you are sensitive to gluten without celiac disease, you could try oats in small quantities to begin with.
Oats are rich in soluble fibre, manganese, phosphorus and magnesium. Include oats in your meal plan at least once a week, to add variety and nutrition.